Celebrating the achievements of alumni in Qatar

When outstanding individuals receive a world-class education in the UK, the effects can last a lifetime. The Alumni Awards shine a light on the impact that alumni of UK higher education institutions are making in their chosen field, and how this was sparked by their studies in the UK.

There are three award categories: Professional Achievement, Entrepreneurial and Social Impact.

  • Professional Achievement Award recognising UK alumni who have distinguished themselves through exemplary leadership and achievements in their professional industry, and who can demonstrate the impact and scale of their achievements in their profession, and beyond.
  • Entrepreneurial Award recognising UK alumni who are active in initiating or contributing to innovative or creative new ideas, solutions or business opportunities that have the potential for strong growth.
  • Social Impact Award recognising UK alumni who have made an exceptional contribution and commitment to creating positive social change and improving the lives of others.

Some of the benefits of winning a prestigious Alumni Award:

  • Raise your international profile through a global press and digital coverage
  • Build your professional networks and business connections
  • Win a professional networking visit to the UK

The winners will be announced on 1 December during the annual Qatar-UK Alumni Networking Event, part of Qatar British Festival 2018.

Key dates

4 September 2018 Applications open 
1 October 2018 Deadline for nominations at 23.59 (GMT) for Qatar National Alumni Awards
15 October 2018 Applications close at 23.59 (GMT) for Qatar National Alumni Awards
October & November 2018 Shortlisting of applications
1 December 2018 Qatar National Alumni Awards Ceremony
April 2019 Global Alumni Awards winners announced

Meet this year's judges

The shortlisting of applications went through internal and external judging process.

The internal judging panel consisted of:

  • Dr Waseem Kotoub, Head of Programmes and Partnerships at the British Council Qatar
  • Mr Toff Wahab, Head of Political Team at the British Embassy Doha.

The external judging panel consisted of:

  • The British Ambassador to Qatar, HE Mr Ajay Sharma
  • Mrs Sam Ayton, British Council Country Director
  • Mr Abdul Hakeem Mostafawi, CEO HSBC Qatar
  • Dr Khalid AlHorr, CEO Qatar Finance and Business Academy
  • Mrs Machaille Al Naimi, President Community Development at Qatar Foundation. 

Meet this year's finalists

Among stiff competition from a variety of strong applicants, these candidates stood out. Find out what makes their story unique.

Professional Achievement Award

This award recognises alumni who have distinguished themselves through exemplary leadership and achievements in their professional industry, and who can demonstrate the highest level of integrity and character in their professional career.

AWARD RECIPIENT: Noha Aboueldahab, School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London; Durham University (Durham Law School)

Dr Noha Aboueldahab is a leading expert on justice, accountability and politics in the Arab region. Her book is the first in-depth comparative analysis of the prosecution of political leaders in the Arab region. Government officials, civil society and the media regularly call on Noha’s expertise.

Having been a student in seven countries, Noha’s studies at SOAS and Durham Law School stood out, giving her access to thriving intellectual communities in London and Durham.

For Noha, it has been truly rewarding and stimulating to continue to develop these friendships both intellectually and personally.

 

Hend Al Muftah, School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London; University of Exeter

Dr Hend Al Muftah is one of the first female Qataris to be appointed by the Emir as a member of Qatar’s Shura Council. She is an Associate Professor and the Vice President for Administration and Finance at Doha Institute for Graduate Studies. She is the first Qatari HR female professor in Qatar and has taught hundreds of students since graduating from the UK in 2004. She was classified as the most influential social media person in 2016 in Qatar.

Hend believes that her UK study experience provided her with strong academic sense and quality research knowledge and skills.

Somaya Al-Madeed, University of Nottingham 

Dr Somaya Al-Maadeed is an Associate Professor and Head of the Computer Science and Engineering Department at Qatar University. She has been a visiting Fellow at Northumbria University since 2012. She is also the IEEE section Chair in Qatar.

Having studied in three different countries, Somaya believes that the UK is an exceptional place to study with many great opportunities offered to students. Her experiences at the University of Nottingham prepared her for her career.

She is now taking her skills and expertise to lead research groups around the world, setting new  standards in education and computing.

Entrepreneurial Award

This award recognises alumni who are active in initiating, or contributing to, innovative new ideas or business opportunities with strong growth prospects.

AWARD RECIPIENT: Tamara Hasan, Cass Business School at City, University of London

Tamara Hasan is the Co-Founder and General Manager of three medical clinics in Qatar. The goal of these clinics is simple – to provide the highest level of medical care and service to the local community within Doha, raising the standards of healthcare services in Qatar. Tamara’s clinics now help around 200 patients per day.

During her time at Cass Business School at City, University of London,Tamara developed a number of key skills: research, analytical thinking, communication and problemsolving, which have helped Tamara throughout her career. Tamara particularly enjoyed studying in London, given its cosmopolitan and dynamic nature.

Hamad Suwaid, University of East Anglia

Hamad is an expert in designing and delivering cost-effective and highperformance technology solutions in support of rapid company growth. He uses cloud technology to support digital transformation initiatives. Hamad is a multi-award-winner of national and regional awards.

Hamad’s experience in the UK granted him access to world-class education whose IT is among the most dynamic in the world. Engaging and team-oriented courses were key in shaping his current success.

Hamad has been leading the digital strategy at Nakilat and has been actively sharing best practice with other companies locally and regionally. His successful business transformations support Qatar’s economic sustainability agenda.

Rupin Kumar, London Business School

Rupin Kumar is founder of the Project Finance advisory firm, which works with global clients on funding and development of projects in oil and gas, power and infrastructure running into hundreds of millions of dollars. Rupin has put together a successful team of seasoned professionals delivering personalised value to clients.

Rupin used his time in the UK and specifically at London Business School to build the foundation of the professional and entrepreneur he has become. The rich cultural diversity at the school gave him the ability to be assertive and collaborative at the same time with diverse groups of professionals.

Social Impact Award

The Social Impact Award acknowledges alumni who have made an exceptional contribution and commitment to creating positive social change and improving lives.

AWARD RECIPIENT: Tahani Al-Hajri, University of Derby

Tahani Al-Hajri is a writer and blogger who uses social media to raise awareness about human rights, women’s empowerment, freedom of expression and coexistence with other cultures.

Upon graduation from the University of Derby in 2014, Tahani published two bestselling books in the Gulf and conducted workshops with local groups. Her volunteer work includes teaching underprivileged children in Morocco and Nepal.

Studying in the UK was a life-changing experience for Tahani, with its diverse environment influencing her to become a global citizen who believes that building bridges between cultures will make the world a better place for everyone.

Rashid R. Al-Hajri, University of Leeds

During his time at the University of Leeds studying BEng Chemical Engineering, Rashid was encouraged to take on volunteer work when he realised the importance of sports in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Rashid became the president of Qatar Students’ Society during his time at Leeds, where he influenced hundreds of Qatari students in the UK.

The dream Rashid created in the UK of promoting sports as a lifestyle through community came true upon his return to Qatar when he became one of the founding members of Qatar Triathlon club, which now attracts more than 500 active Qatari members. Rashid is also an Ambassador for Qatar Cancer Society and has recently ran London Marathon where he succeeded in raising fund to support cancer groundbreaking research and clinical trials. 

Badriya Al Lenjawi, Middlesex University; University of Greenwich

Dr Badriya Al Lenjawi is the Executive Director for Nursing and the lead national coordinator for Leadership for Change – Qatar implementation at Hamad Medical Corporation. The programme has paved the way to train and mentor generations of Qatari nurses to lead and manage in the healthcare sector. Her innovations have led her to providing world-class medical and nursing research.  

Dr Badriya Al Lenjawi’s experiences in the UK developed her grit and determination to overcome the status quo, to be steady during high-risk situations and to bring extraordinary capability out of the human potential. This has been decisive in coaching the future leaders of her nation.

External links

الإحتفاء بإنجازات الخريجين في دولة قطر

عندما يتلقى الأفراد المتميزون تعليمًا في المملكة المتحدة على مستوى عالمي، يستمر أثر ذلك مدى حياتهم. تكرّم الجوائز خريجو مؤسسات التعليم العالي في المملكة المتحدة على الأثر الذي تركوه في مجالهم المختار، وكيف ساهمت دراستهم في المملكة المتحدة على إنجازاتهم في هذه المجالات.

تتوزع الجوائز على ثلاث فئات: الإنجاز المهني، والأثر الريادي والاجتماعي.

جائزة الإنجاز المهني

تكريم خريجي المملكة المتحدة الذين تميزوا من خلال القيادة والإنجازات في مهنهم، والذين يمكنهم عرض حجم وأثر إنجازاتهم في مهنهم وأكثر.

جائزة الريادة

تكريم خريجي المملكة المتحدة الذين ينشطون في بدء أو المساهمة في أفكار أو حلول إبداعية أو فرص أعمال مبتكرة و خلاقة ذات مستقبل مبهر.

جائزة التأثير الاجتماعي

تكريم خريجي المملكة المتحدة الذين ساهموا بشكل استثنائي لخلق تغيير اجتماعي إيجابي وتحسين حياة الآخرين.

تم الإعلان عن الفائزين في حفل توزيع الجوائز في تاريخ 1 ديسمبر 2018 أثناء حفل العشاء السنوي لشبكة خريجي المملكة المتحدة، جزء من المهرجان البريطاني في قطر لعام 2018. 

تواريخ مهمة:

4 سبتمبر 2018 بدء استقبال الطلبات
1 أكتوبر 2018 الموعد النهائي لاستلام طلبات الترشيح في تمام الساعة 23:59 بتوقيت غرينيتش
15 أكتوبر 2018 الموعد النهائي لاستلام طلبات الخريجين في تمام الساعة 23:59 بتوقيت غرينيتش
أكتوبر و نوفمبر 2018 مرحلة التحكيم واختيار المتأهلين والفائزين بجوائز خريجي المملكة المتحدة على مستوى دولة قطر
1 ديسمبر 2018 حفل توزيع جوائز خريجي المملكة المتحدة على مستوى دولة قطر
أبريل 2019 الإعلان عن جوائز خريجي المملكة المتحدة على مستوى العالم

 تعرفوا على لجنة التحكيم!

تمت عملية تصفية الطلبات المقدمة عبر لجان تحكيم داخلية وخارجية.

وقد تكونت لجنة التحكيم الداخلية من كل من:

  • د. وسيم قطب، رئيس قسم البرامج والشراكات في المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في قطر
  • السيد توف وهب، رئيس قسم السياسة في السفارة البريطانية بالدوحة

وقد تألفت لجنة التحكيم الخارجية من كل من:

  • سعادة السفير البريطاني في قطر، السيد أجاي شارما
  • السيدة سام آيتون، المديرة المحلية للمجلس الثقافي البريطاني
  • السيد عبد الحكيم مصطفوي، الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك اتش اس بي سي قطر
  • الدكتور خالد الحر، الرئيس التنفيذي لأكاديمية قطر للمال والأعمال 
  • السيدة مشاعل النعيمي، رئيسة التنمية المجتمعية في مؤسسة قطر.

تعرفوا على المتسابقين النهائيين لجوائز خريجي التعليم البريطاني الأولى في قطر لعام 19-2018

جوائز خريجي التعليم البريطاني لعام 2018-19المتسابقين النهائيين

جائزة الإنجاز المهني

تكرم هذه الجائزة الخريجين الذين ميزوا أنفسهم من خلال القيادة والإنجازات المثالية في صناعتهم المهنية، والذين يمكنهم إظهار أعلى مستوى من النزاهة والاحتراف في حياتهم المهنية.

الحاصلة على الجائزة:  نهى أبو الدهب، كلية الدراسات الشرقية والأفريقية، جامعة لندن. جامعة دورام (كلية دورام للحقوق)

 الدكتورة نهى أبو الدهب هي خبيرة رائدة في مجال العدالة والمساءلة والسياسة في المنطقة العربية. يعتبر كتابها هو أول تحليل مقارن متعمق لمقاضاة القادة السياسيين في المنطقة العربية. ويستدعي المسؤولون الحكوميون والمجتمع المدني والإعلام بانتظام خبرة نهى.

 بعد أن كانت طالبة في سبع دول، برزت دراسات نهى في كلية الدراسات الشرقية والأفريقية وكلية دورام للحقوق، مما أتاح لها الوصول إلى المجتمعات الفكرية المزدهرة في لندن ودورام. بالنسبة لـنهى كان من المجزي حقا المواصلة على تطوير هذه الصداقات فكريا وشخصيا.

هند المفتاح، كلية الدراسات الشرقية والأفريقية، جامعة لندن، جامعة اكستر

 تعتبر الدكتورة هند المفتاح من أوائل النساء القطريات اللواتي تم تعينهن من قبل سمو الأمير كعضو في مجلس الشورى في قطر. وهي أستاذ مشارك ونائب رئيس للشؤون الإدارية والمالية في معهد الدوحة للدراسات العليا. وهي أول أستاذة قطرية للموارد البشرية في قطر، وقد درّست مئات الطلاب منذ تخرجها من المملكة المتحدة في عام 2004. وقد صنّفت كأفضل شخصية في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في عام 2016 في قطر.

 تعتقد هند أن تجربتها في الدراسة في المملكة المتحدة زودتها بحس أكاديمي قوي ومعرفة ومهارات بحثية عالية الجودة.

سميه المعاضيد، جامعة نوتنجهام

الدكتورة سمية المعاضيد هي أستاذة مشاركة ورئيسة قسم علوم وهندسة الحاسب في جامعة قطر. وهي زميلة زائرة في جامعة نورثمبريا منذ عام 2012. وهي أيضاً رئيسة قسم IEEE في قطر.

بعد الدراسة في ثلاث دول مختلفة، تعتقد سمية أن المملكة المتحدة هي مكان استثنائي للدراسة مع العديد من الفرص العظيمة التي يتم تقديمها للطلاب. أعدتها تجربتها في جامعة نوتنغهام لمسيرتها المهنية منذ أن كانت طالبة. وهي الآن تأخذ مهاراتها وخبراتها لقيادة المجموعات البحثية في جميع أنحاء العالم، ووضع معايير جديدة في التعليم والحوسبة.

جائزة الريادة

تمنح هذه الجائزة للخريجين النشطين في المبادرة أو المساهمة في أفكار جديدة مبتكرة أو فرص تجارية مع توقعات نمو قوية.

الحاصلة على الجائزة: تمارا حسن، كلية كاس لإدارة الأعمال في سيتي، جامعة لندن

تمارا حسن هي المؤسس المشارك والمدير العام لثلاثة عيادات طبية في قطر. إن هدف هذه العيادات بسيط وهو توفير أعلى مستوى من الرعاية والخدمات الطبية للمجتمع المحلي في الدوحة، ورفع معايير خدمات الرعاية الصحية في قطر. عيادات تمارا تساعد الآن حوالي 200 مريض يوميا.

خلال فترة تواجدها في كلية كاس للأعمال في سيتي، جامعة لندن، طورت تمارا عددا من المهارات الأساسية: البحث والتفكير التحليلي والتواصل وحل المشكلات التي ساعدت تمارا طوال مسيرتها المهنية. استمتعت تمارا بالدراسة في لندن، نظراً لطابعها العالمي والديناميكي.

حمد سويد، جامعة ايست انجليا

حمد هو خبير في تصميم وتقديم حلول تكنولوجيا فعالة من حيث التكلفة والأداء العالي لدعم نمو الشركة السريع. يستخدم تقنية الحاسوب السحابي لدعم مبادرات التحول الرقمي. حمد حائز على العديد من الجوائز الوطنية والإقليمية وهو مثال حقيقي لتطبيق الحلول المبتكرة في مكان العمل التي ساهمت في توفير ما لايقل عن 50% من ميزانية تكنولوجيا المعلومات في شركة ناقلات.

لقد سمحت خبرة حمد في المملكة المتحدة له بالحصول على تعليم ذي مستوى عالمي، حيث تعد تكنولوجيا المعلومات من بين الأكثر ديناميكية في العالم. كانت الدورات التدريبية الموجهة للفرق أمرًا أساسيًا في تشكيل نجاحه الحالي.

يقود حمد الإستراتيجية الرقمية في ناقلات، وقد شارك في وضع أفضل الممارسات مع شركات أخرى محلية وإقليمية. تدعم تحولات أعماله الناجحة أجندة الاستدامة الاقتصادية لقطر.

روبين كومار، كلية لندن للأعمال

روبين كومار هو مؤسس شركة تمويل المشاريع الاستشارية، التي تعمل مع العملاء العالميين على تمويل وتطوير مشاريع في مجال النفط والغاز والطاقة والبنية التحتية والتي تصل إلى عوائد بقيمة مئات الملايين من الدولارات. جمع روبن فريقًا ناجحًا من المحترفين المخضرمين الذين يقدمون قيمة للعملاء.

استخدم روبن وقته في المملكة المتحدة وتحديدًا في كلية لندن لإدارة الأعمال لبناء الأساس المهني لرائد الأعمال الذي أصبحه. أعطى التنوع الثقافي الغني في المدرسة القدرة على أن يكون حازما ومتعاونا في نفس الوقت مع مجموعات متنوعة من المهنيين.

 

جائزة التأثير الاجتماعي

تكرم جائزة التأثير الاجتماعي الخريجين الذين قدموا مساهمات والتزامات استثنائية لخلق تغيير اجتماعي إيجابي وتحسين حياة الاخرين.

الحاصلة على الجائزة: تهاني الهاجري, جامعة ديربي

تهاني الهاجري كاتبة ومدونة تستخدم وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للتوعية بحقوق الإنسان وتمكين المرأة وحرية التعبير والتعايش مع الثقافات الأخرى.

بعد تخرجها من جامعة ديربي في عام 2014، نشرت تهاني كتابين حققوا عائد بيع عالي في الخليج والوطن العربي وعقدت ورش عمل محلية. اشتمل عملها التطوعي تعليم الأطفال المحرومين في المغرب ونيبال.

الدراسة في المملكة المتحدة كانت تجربة غيرت حياة تهاني للأفضل، واثرت بيئة المملكة المتنوعة على تهاني لتصبح مواطنة عالمية تؤمن بأن بناء الجسور بين الثقافات سيجعل العالم مكانًا أفضل للجميع.

راشد الهاجري، جامعة ليدز

خلال فترة دراسته الهندسة الكيميائية بجامعة ليدز  ، تحمس راشد للعمل التطوعي لكن في الوقت ذاته أدرك أهمية ممارسة الرياضة في الحفاظ على نمط حياة صحي. أصبح راشد رئيس جمعية الطلاب القطريين خلال فترة وجوده في ليدز ، حيث أثر على مئات الطلاب القطريين في المملكة المتحدة.

الحلم الذي خلقه راشد في المملكة المتحدة من الترويج للرياضة كأسلوب حياة في المجتمع أصبح حقيقة عند عودته إلى قطر عندما أصبح أحد الأعضاء المؤسسين لنادي الترايثلون القطري (كيوتراي) ، والذي يجذب الآن أكثر من 500 عضو قطري نشط. يعتبر راشد أحد سفراء الجمعية القطرية للسرطان حيث شارك مؤخرا في ماراثون لندن والذي تمكن من خلاله من جمع تبرعات تساهم حاليا في البحوث الأساسية في مجال السرطان والتجارب السريرية.

بدرية اللنجاوي، جامعة ميديلسكس: جامعة غرينيتش

الدكتورة بدرية اللنجاوي هي المديرة التنفيذية لقسم التمريض في مؤسسة حمد الطبية والمسؤولة عن برنامج القادة للتغيير حيث مهد هذا البرنامج الطريق لتدريب وتوجيه أجيال من الممرضات القطريين لقيادة وإدارة قطاع الرعاية الصحية في قطر. لقد أدت ابتكاراتها إلى تقديم أبحاث طبية وتمريضية على مستوى عالمي.

طورت خبرات الدكتورة بدرية اللنجاوي في المملكة المتحدة عزمها على التغلب على الوضع الراهن، واستقرارها في المواقف شديدة الخطورة، وإخراج القدرات غير العادية من الإمكانات البشرية. كان هذا حاسما في تدريب قادة المستقبل في بلدها.

 

روابط خارجية