Dr Waseem Kotoub, Interim Director, British Council Qatar 

I am delighted to have the opportunity to lead the British Council team inQatar, especially in the year the country is hosting the FIFA World Cup for the first time in the Middle East. I joined the British Council in Qatar as the lead for the cultural component of Qatar UK Year of Culture 2013 and have enjoyed developing links with the UK’s vibrant arts and cultural scene. I have worked internationally in cultural relations within the British Council for over 13 years in MENA and the UK, sharing the best of UK’s culture and education system whilst learning from others. 

The British Council is the UK’s international organisation for cultural relations and educational opportunities. We work in more than 100 countries, connecting millions of people with the United Kingdom. The British Council was established in Qatar in 1972, and we have a diverse and talented team of 59 staff, running innovative programmes across our core areas of Arts and Culture, Education and English to support Qatar’s 2030 National Vision. We continue to seek to create many more opportunities for people in Qatar and the UK to learn from each other and work together on areas of common interest. 

We work with trusted governmental organisations, top educational institutions and leading corporations and are continuing to create new partnerships and new learning opportunities. We believe this work plays a vital role in generating deeper, more inclusive relationships between people in our two countries. We aim to change –and improve– lives through access to UK education, skills, qualifications, culture and society; to make people engage with the UK’s culture and arts, education, diversity and openness; to grow cultural and education exports through the market intelligence and business opportunities we share with our UK partners; to create more opportunities for the UK to innovate and, finally to support the development of educational and arts institutions in both countries through the links we help them to establish. 

We will achieve this by staying true to our values: quality, customer care and professionalism, but also through a focus on equality, diversity and inclusion across all of our work.  

Over the coming months, I hope to be able to work closely with our partners so that we can plan programmes and activities together and build a future of mutual benefit to us all. 

If you would like more information, or you’d like to share something with us, just drop us an email, or get in touch through one of our social media channels.

وسيم قطب ، المدير المؤقت ، المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في قطر

يسعدني أن تتاح لي الفرصة لقيادة فريق المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في قطر ، خاصة في هذا العام  الذي تستضيف فيه البلاد كأس العالم لكرة القدم لأول مرة في الشرق الأوسط. يعود تاريخ انضمامي إلى المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في قطر الى العام 2013 حيث كنت في قيادة المكون الثقافي البريطاني المشارك في عام الثقافة القطرية البريطانية والذي من خلاله عملنا على مد جسور المشهد الفني والثقافي النابض بالحياة في المملكة المتحدة. لقد امضيت اكثر من 13 عاما من العمل الدولي في العلاقات الثقافية داخل المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا والمملكة المتحدة ، مشاركين أفضل ما تزخر به الثقافة البريطانية ونظامها التعليمي في نفس الوقت الذي نتعلم فيه من تجارب الآخرين .

المجلس الثقافي البريطاني هو منظمة المملكة المتحدة الدولية للعلاقات الثقافية والفرص التعليمية. والذي ينشط في أكثر من 100 دولة ، نربط فيها ملايين الأشخاص بالمملكة المتحدة. تأسس المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في قطر في عام 1972 ، ولدينا فريق متنوع وزاخر بالمواهب مكون من 59 موظفًا ، يديرون برامج مبتكرة في مجالاتنا الأساسية للفنون والثقافة والتعليم واللغة الإنجليزية لدعم رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030. ونواصل سعينا لخلق المزيد من الفرص للناس في قطر والمملكة المتحدة للتعلم من بعضهم البعض والعمل معًا في المجالات ذات الاهتمام المشترك.

نحن نعمل مع المنظمات الحكومية الموثوقة والمؤسسات التعليمية العليا والشركات الرائدة مستمرين في إنشاء شراكات جديدة وفرص تعليمية جديدة. نعتقد أن هذا العمل يلعب دورًا حيويًا في إقامة علاقات أكثر عمقًا وشمولية بين الناس في بلدينا. تهدف إلى تغيير وتحسين الحياة  لدى من الكثير منهم من خلال الوصول إلى التعليم والمهارات والمؤهلات والثقافة والمجتمع في المملكة المتحدة. تجعلهم يتفاعلون مع ثقافة وفنون المملكة المتحدة بما تحتويه من التعليم والتنوع والانفتاح ؛كما نسعى لتنمية الصادرات الثقافية والتعليمية من خلال معلومات طبيعة السوق وفرص الأعمال التي نشاركها مع شركائنا في المملكة المتحدة ؛ والتي تقوم بخلق المزيد من الفرص للمملكة المتحدة في مجال الإبتكار ، وأخيراً لدعم تطوير المؤسسات التعليمية والفنية في كلا البلدين من خلال الروابط التي نساعدهم على إنشائها.

سنحقق ذلك من خلال الالتزام بقيمنا: الجودة وخدمة العملاء والاحترافية ، ولكن أيضًا من خلال التركيز على المساواة والتنوع والشمول في جميع أعمالنا.

آمل أن أكون قادرًا على العمل بشكل وثيق مع شركائنا خلال الأشهر المقبلة حتى نتمكن من تخطيط البرامج والأنشطة معًا وبناء مستقبل يعود بالفائدة المتبادلة علينا جميعًا.

إذا كنت ترغب في مزيد من المعلومات ، أو ترغب في مشاركة شيء ما معنا ، فما عليك سوى مراسلتنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني ، أو التواصل عبر إحدى قنواتنا على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.